Australia, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea

Stay up to date

Register for priority ticket offers and all your Rugby League World Cup information

About the Tournament

In 2017, the best Rugby League players from around the world will be in Australia, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea playing for the most sought after prize in international Rugby League.

The Rugby League World Cup 2017 will see 14 teams play 28 games over five weeks – all hoping to be crowned world champions in what is the pinnacle event in international Rugby League.

In addition to playing matches in Australia and New Zealand, there will be three pool matches played in Papua New Guinea in front of some of the world's most passionate Rugby League fans.

This Tournament will celebrate the diversity of cultures and countries playing and engaging with the game around the world.

Rugby League in Australia and New Zealand has never been stronger. It is now watched and played by more people than ever before and is entrenched in our sporting way of life so now is the time to get behind your team and see the world's best players on the world stage in the Rugby League World Cup 2017.

Rugby League Women's World Cup 2017

The Rugby League World Cup 2017 Organising Committee has announced that for the first time in the sport's history the Women's Rugby League World Cup will be held concurrently with the men's tournament.

Next year's event will see all pool matches and both semi-finals played at Southern Cross Group Stadium in Sydney with the final set to be held at Suncorp Stadium before the men's final.

Download the Media Release

The Paul Barriere Trophy

From 2016 the Rugby League World Cup Trophy will be known as the 'The Paul Barriere Trophy'.

Named after the President of the FFR XIII - Fédération Française de Rugby à XIII between 1947 to 1955, Paul was a driving force behind the creation of the International Rugby League Board and the first Rugby League World Cup

The Road to the Rugby League World Cup 2017

The RLWC2017 will see the world's best 14 teams battle it out to be crowned world champions.

Eleven teams have already qualified and include the co-hosts Australia and New Zealand along with Papua New Guinea, England, France, Samoa, Fiji, Scotland, Tonga, Lebanon and the USA who were the last team to qualify in December 2015.

With eleven teams already qualified for the RLWC2017, the eyes of the Rugby League community will be on those battling to fill the remaining three spots in the Tournament.

The three remaining qualifiers will come from Europe and will be determined by a tournament to be played in October 2016.


The European leg will see Serbia, Wales, Italy, Ireland, Russia and Spain play off over a seven-match tournament in October 2016. Details of the venues for this qualifying tournament are yet to be confirmed.

A live draw took place on the 4th of November 2015 to determine the make-up of the two pools and the qualifying schedule. The Pools are outlined below:

Pool A

  • Wales
  • Serbia
  • Italy

Pool B

  • Ireland
  • Russia
  • Spain

Europe Qualifying Fixtures

Wales vs Serbia 15 Oct 2016 TBC
Russia vs Spain 15 Oct 2016 Moscow, RUSSIA
Serbia vs Italy 22 Oct 2016 TBC
Spain vs Ireland 22 Oct, 2016 Valencia, SPAIN
Italy vs Wales 29 Oct Monza, ITALY
Ireland vs Russia 30 Oct 2016 TBC
2A vs 2B 5 Nov 2016 Leigh Sports Village, Leigh, UK

Sign up for priority ticket offers and the latest #RLWC2017 news